City of Angels

The title is an attempt to make my one day trip to Angeles with Lando last Sunday sound dreamier than it actually was. Not that it wasn’t. And yes, that is a disgustingly huge, pink, flowery bow on my head.

 IMGP0036 IMGP0034

 

I’ve forgotten by now how Lando convinced me to spend the money I saved for the week to go with him. But I’m guessing it’s because of the yummy food he said we were going to get to eat.

IMGP0053

 

We arrived late morning for some brotherly hospital visiting and some ravenous Yellow Cab pizza eating. Afterwards, we walked around to do some sightseeing.

 

IMGP0003 IMGP0004

It still amazes me how lavish Catholic churches can be. I wonder how much of the Church’s budget goes to prettifying. And lo and behold, what’s that I see?!

 

IMGP0015

Yes, that is an LCD screen you see on the church column. I die of incredulity now.

 

IMGP0018

Hey look at what’s next to the church! It’s Lando’s school!

 

IMGP0008

He was practically giddy in reliving high school memories. (Note the sarcasm.)

 

IMGP0040

Back in third year, we had a group plate to design a call center, and our site was situated somewhere in Pampanga. Two years later, here I am, a street away from the site.

 

IMGP0030

I just had to take a photo of this cute restaurant. The name says it all: dainty.

 

 IMGP0079

Lando took me to this food place called Susie’s, which he said was known for their yummy palabok, cassava, and other delicacies. It seems to be a pretty popular place, because the place was packed the entire time we were there.

 

IMGP0064

Lando bought this dish called bringhe, which to me was like palabok but used sticky rice instead of noodles. Up to now, I’m still debating on whether I liked it or not; I’m not used to eating something with sticky rice that isn’t sweet.

 

IMGP0089

We dropped by Lando’s house afterwards. Customary to every home visit, we looked at his baby photos! But the coolest thing wasn’t seeing Lando with silver teeth (yep, he had caps made in nursery to keep his teeth from rotting), but it was seeing his photo album itself! We have the same one, only I have the girl version. I shall repost it again soon once I get a photo of it. Can you say meant to be? :”>

 

IMGP0092

Before we knew it, it was time for dinner, and Lando decided to take me to this restaurant called Tollhouse.

 

IMGP0104 

I took Lando’s recommendation and ordered their lasagna. I have to say, this must be the creamiest, tastiest I have had EVER. NOMNOMNOM.

 

IMGP0116

Lando had this dish called Tropical Chicken, which was basically Chicken Pastel. It was quite yummy too.

 

IMGP0109

Fruity drinks yaaay

 

 IMGP0115

We also bought two bars of this amazing thing called Marshmallow Nut Fudge.

 

IMGP0118

The entire dinner would have been perfect if not for one thing: the restaurant closed at 8 and we arrived a little past 7. The waiters were pretty rude and kept reminding us to rush because they were closing at 8. Why did they let us enter the restaurant in the first place if they couldn’t accomodate our eating time?  They were practically closing the lights on us. Turds.

 

IMGP0097

On the bright side, we did get to take this cool double exposure photo of Lando. It’s so amazingly hipster-y, I can’t even.

 

After that, we went back to the hospital, then back to Lando’s to copy a few movies, before going en route back to Manila.

Overall, it was a really nice way to spend a Sunday. A big thank you to Lando! :)

IMGP0058IMGP0050 

 

P.S. Yes, he IS aware that he looks like a total psycho in the first photo.

2 Responses to “City of Angels”


  1. 1 sashalimuy November 17, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    I HAVE THE SAME PHOTO ALBUM! THREESOME TAYO!


Leave a comment





Allie has seen many a dust bunny in her lifetime, most of them in her dorm room. She is often mistaken as a 13-year old, further intensified by her weird fashion choices that mostly involve cutesy patootsie rings, colorful knee high socks, and ribbons and bows in her hair. She dreams of waking up one day and finding herself as a character in Star Wars. Preferably a jedi. With a purple lightsaber.

Follow me on

bloglovin