5 Cartoon Network Shows That I Forgot Even Existed

Being a kid with a strict no-watching-tv-during-weekdays rule, I always savored my weekends. They were times that I could get to go on temporary adik mode on the PC, or to spend luxuriously long hours in front of the TV. I would watch everything I could manage (whether I understood them or not). If I couldn’t find anything good on TV, I would channel surf until thirty minutes has passed and channels would transition to their next shows.

Of course, being a kid also meant I had a special place in my heart for cartoons. The day that we subscribed to Sky Cable Naga is a day to remember. Why?

Two words: CARTOON NETWORK. The day we got this channel will forever be ingrained in my memory.

However, these shows apparently, were not.

1. Mike, Lu and Og

Mike_Lu_and_Og_by_zero090

When Lando mentioned this cartoon last week, I instantly remembered was the opening song! “Mike, Lu, and Og… from the island!”

But that was all I could remember of it. I had to look it up on Wikipedia just so I could remember what they looked like. But I used to watch this pretty frequently as a kid. This is one of the many shows to whick Nancy Cartwright, voices of the likes of Bart Simspon, Chuckie Finster and Rufus of Kim Possible, lent her voice to.

 

2. Top Cat

strip

I wasn’t a huge fan of the series, but I would occasionally watch it during lunchtimes while I was waiting for sundo (yes, I got that privilege at the very least). I found Top Cat to be too arrogant, although I did have a soft spot for Benny the Ball. How could I not when his voice was just so cute? :>

 

3. Two Stupid Dogs

goodman02-1

I considered Two Stupid Dogs to be One Stupid Show. But it was one of the cartoons that they frequently showed during weekend afternoons so I really had no choice but to watch it. I think I blocked this show from my memory for some reason, but now Little Dog’s annoyingly squeaky voice is haunting me again.

 

4. Swat Kats

3216519999_963b26827a

When I said I loved cartoons, I meant it. And yes, I even watched boy cartoons.

I actually think Swat Kats was ahead of its time, with hot feline heroes and the futuristic MegaKat City as the setting. Everything else about this show escapes me now, but I always have fond memories of this show, along with Ninja Turtles, Power Rangers, and similar stuff like that.

 

5. Ed, Edd, and Eddy

eds

How could I even forget the existence of these lovable guys? They came around the same time as Powerpuff Girls and Dexter’s Lab, all from the severely underrated gem of a show that is Cartoon Cartoon  (or was it The What a Cartoon Show?). Edd was my favorite because he was nerdy and cute. I also liked the Kanker Sisters -let’s face it, even at that young an age kahit anong may kalandian gusto ko. One more thing, this is one of the first shows where I found out of the existence of a jawbreaker.

———–

Sad to say, I don’t like much of what’s showing on Cartoon Network these days, or on any other kid’s channel for that matter.

I hope the reason is that 90’s shows for kids were better. Not because I’m getting older. God forbid.

2 Responses to “5 Cartoon Network Shows That I Forgot Even Existed”


  1. 1 Man Hands Lizzie June 29, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Mr. Pringles, were you being ironic about Swat Kats and Ed, Edd, and Eddy? You started out with shows you thought were forgettable but it sounded like you liked those 2 shows quite a bit. :)

    The last cartoon I really dug at Cartoon Network was The Powerpuff Girls. I loved the theme song and can even imitate the voices of the girls, the professor, the mayor, and most of the villains (him!). Take note: I was still enjoying the girls in my early 30’s. But I got turned off when I saw this teenage version of the show while I flipped through the channels. Was it just my imagination or is there really such a dribble of a show?

    I also liked Dexter’s Lab and Cow and Chicken (though I don’t think the latter is truly for kids). The Adult Swim shows are a riot, especially Aqua Teen Hunger Force. It’s absurd but it makes me groan and laugh.

    I don’t get the new shows at Cartoon Network. I think they’re all about selling merchandise to kids. Phooey.

    • 2 alliekabok July 1, 2010 at 11:49 am

      Hi Miss Cabel!

      I think I was in a bit of a hurry that I didn’t get my point across very well. I didn’t really mean that I disliked the shows, just that I had honestly forgotten that I had watched them. Whether I liked them or not. :)

      YES THERE IS A TEENAGE VERSION! *barf* I think it’s drawn in an anime-like style, which makes me dislike it even more because well, I don’t think it really suits them.

      As for cartoons that I liked as a kid even if they weren’t really for kids, another one that comes to mind aside from Cow and Chicken is Rocko’s Modern Life! Haha i rewatched a few episodes recently, and ngayon ko lang nagets yung mga “subliminal” meanings.

      Yup, I don’t really watch Cartoon Network anymore for the exact reason (like the show Ben 10).


Leave a Reply

Allie has seen many a dust bunny in her lifetime, most of them in her dorm room. She is often mistaken as a 13-year old, further intensified by her weird fashion choices that mostly involve cutesy patootsie rings, colorful knee high socks, and ribbons and bows in her hair. She dreams of waking up one day and finding herself as a character in Star Wars. Preferably a jedi. With a purple lightsaber.

Follow me on

bloglovin




