The Doppleganger Effect

I’ve never thought of myself having a face that was particularly unique, but even I was shocked when a couple of months ago, my cousin posted this photo on my Facebook wall (garnering a fair amount of bemused comments from my contacts).

doppleganger

The photo was a still from the 2006 Japanese film, Heavenly Forest, with Aoi Miyazaki playing the female lead. Now if having a lookalike in a movie wasn’t interesting enough, I read the synopsis of the movie and found myself even more intrigued. I finally downloaded it a week or two ago and found time to watch it over the weekend. I sincerely recommend it to anyone who has loved movies the like of Windstruck and My Sassy Girl. I couldn’t stop myself from crying at some parts. :|

Watching it was practically surreal. It was one thing to see her in a still but another thing entirely to watch her on video!

Okay, so I don’t really walk like that, but I have to admit she does eerily resemble me a lot. Here are some other stills I took from the movie that remind me of… well… me. (Blurry ones were taken with one of the most awesome tools ever, the Snipping Tool.) If you notice, most of them are frowning, because that’s usually how I look by default.

doppleganger5 doppleganger1

Heavenly Forest1 doppleganger4

My hair is a bit longer than this now so I guess it takes away some of the resemblance, and I’m not as light skinned either. But it does make me consider having my hair cut shorter right before Japan. But then again, maybe not, because I really don’t have the resources for it.

In the story, Shizuru (Aoi Miyazaki) claims that although she’s 21 years old already, she hasn’t really grown up. Her baby molars haven’t even been replaced with permanent teeth yet. She says that one day, Makoto will see her and she’ll be different; she’ll be taller, she won’t be wearing glasses anymore, and have boobs. And guess what, she was right! (WARNING: SPOILER PHOTO AHEAD!)

11945297_gal 536053599_1c1b1e7045

Lo and behold! Two years after said statement, there she is with a self-portrait of hers (she did photography) looking every bit like a woman.

I wish I could make the same claim. I’m turning 21 this year myself, yet even if you were a reader who isn’t dyslexic, you would think that I was 12 instead. I would give anything to have the same things she said she would have eventually. If I let my hair grow long again, will things be any different? Sadly, I got my permanent molars way back in high school, and I am doubtful that any change is still yet to come in my case.

It gets really hard to be like this sometimes though. You often get questioned about your age at PG movies, rarely taken seriously by people who don’t believe that you are as old as you say you are, and always looked at as someone who should be all innocent and childlike, which I am just not.

I’m getting tired of being called cute and seldom being called pretty. But then again, who am I to complain, right?

People have told me countless times that I’ll be thankful someday, because when everyone looks like they’re in their forties, I’ll look like I’m in my thirties. But that is but an assumption. Who knows how hideous I’ll become in a few years time?

To answer this, I headed over to In20years.com to check out what I may possibly look like by the time I’m 40.

31092_1120205660684_1693321990_236524_423956_n aged_wb20100516093227804124

Ang masasabi ko lang… I think I look like a guy. :| On the bright side, my nose gets a little less pango!

Well, that’s something to look forward to, right? :))

—–

P.S. I posted this using Windows Live Writer! So much easier than using WordPress’ dashboard.

6 Responses to “The Doppleganger Effect”


  1. 1 Jasper Jay Gomez May 16, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    ako nga drug addict/killer in my 40’s. ekoy humiliated me on facebook :))

  2. 5 sashalimuy May 18, 2010 at 2:18 am

    I think I saw this in Facebook. Hahahhaa Yeah uncanny but she looks like a mix of you and Zoe. Hahaha.


Leave a Reply

Allie has seen many a dust bunny in her lifetime, most of them in her dorm room. She is often mistaken as a 13-year old, further intensified by her weird fashion choices that mostly involve cutesy patootsie rings, colorful knee high socks, and ribbons and bows in her hair. She dreams of waking up one day and finding herself as a character in Star Wars. Preferably a jedi. With a purple lightsaber.

Follow me on

bloglovin




