Two Days of Geekiness


GEEKY IS THE NEW COOL.

-someone’s shirt I saw a while back

This all started yesterday, after yet another mind numbing PI100 class (5/10 quiz WTH). Having quite a bit of time to kill on that Friday afternoon, I decided to have an internet hunt of one of my favorite stuff to search about ever, Star Wars. In particular, Star Wars shirts. Then I stumbled upon this particular gem: http://hideyourarms.com/2009/07/16/list-ofstar-wars-tshirts/1/.

ANG GAGANDA NG SHIRTS GRABE! I want one so badly! The only Star Wars shirt I have is this green one I got from AM BLVD a while back, and all it has is “I <3 Star Wars” on it. And even that shirt is missing right now, I have yet to get it back from where I left it. But I want cool, I want witty, I want funny!

Here are some of them:

Stormtrooper

MERRY HOTHMAS!

Mike Walkers

Feeling ko ipapagawa namin ito.

It was also the opening of Kick Ass last night, so we decided to catch the last full show at Eastwood. (Haha if my mom is reading this, I will stress that I am not overbudget with my baon so you have nothing to worry about). Having not heard of the Marvel comic book or the movie itself until we saw posters of it in theaters last week, we came into the movie with low/no expectations whatsoever, and were pleasantly surprised because of it. It is actually one of the better movies I have watched recently, and dare I say, I enjoyed it better than Clash of the Titans, which I now conclude as a so-so movie. It was funny but not slapstick, dramatic but not overly so, and action-packed enough to keep me entertained for the two and a half hour duration of the film. But what can I say, I always enjoy a good superhero movie. SULIT NA SULIT. (You can decide for yourself if you think this is worth your time and money by reading its synopsis here.)

Movie poster

Red Mist aka yung kabuhok ni Lando

Clearly not satisfied yet, we also headed over to Komikon Summer Fiesta 2010, held today  at The Bahay ng Alumni. This is my third time to attend a comic convention, and the 2nd time to attend Komikon. It bugged me a little that I didn’t get to buy the stuff I really wanted because I couldn’t afford, like the latest Kikomachine from Manix, the long-wanted Martial Law Babies by Arre, or this really cool compilation from different komik artists entitled Renaissance. I must remember to save up for events like these because they only happen a couple of times a year. Gladly, I was still able to drop by Michael David’s booth and grab myself a copy of the 2nd issue of the Kuborikikiam.com compilation! Head on over to the site to check them out, although I warn you, they aren’t exactly G-rated Oo, ako na ang natatawa sa bastos.

Lando, on the other hand, bought Gatekeepers 1 and 2 DVDs which I am really excited for since I haven’t been able to watch that series since high school and they don’t have any manga either. And he scored Apol Sta. Maria’s Ang Alamat ng Panget, which had us in stitches seconds into reading the first page.

It sucked that I had no camera this time to document the day, we didn’t get to take photos of the many, many cool stuff we saw. I must charge my batteries soon.

My haul: Kubori Kikiam Vol. 1 and 2, Apoy and Apoy 2 by Oko Francisco

Lando's haul: Gatekeepers 1 & 2 DVDs and Alamat ng Panget and Many Other by Apol Sta. Maria. (Note: These aren't the actual stuff, hindi ko nakunan ng photos yung kanya haha)

And to top it all off, the pièce de résistance to affirming my geek lifestyle, here I am at home on a Saturday night, with only my sleeping brother, my laptop, and wireless internet to keep me company. Oh well. I can’t have everything can I.

6 Responses to “Two Days of Geekiness”


  1. 1 Andy April 18, 2010 at 1:07 am

    Glad you liked my post about the Star Wars tees!

  2. 3 Man Hands Lizzie April 18, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Yes, geek is the new cool. Which makes it quite un-cool. Oh, the good old days when us geeks were ostracized by the cool kids. What’s next? Nerds will rule the world? :P

    • 4 alliekabok April 18, 2010 at 10:32 am

      Oooh, I haven’t thought of that. Yes, everyone’s been joining the geek bandwagon, haven’t they? Yes, non-exclusivity does make it a bit un-cool. I miss the times when there were only a handful of people I knew who would dare call themselves a geek ( that was the one thing I was proud of when I was in high school).

      But nerds ruling the world? I think that would be awesome! XD

  3. 5 Tita Ruthsie April 19, 2010 at 11:34 am

    You’re one cool geek, Allie!


Leave a Reply

Allie has seen many a dust bunny in her lifetime, most of them in her dorm room. She is often mistaken as a 13-year old, further intensified by her weird fashion choices that mostly involve cutesy patootsie rings, colorful knee high socks, and ribbons and bows in her hair. She dreams of waking up one day and finding herself as a character in Star Wars. Preferably a jedi. With a purple lightsaber.

Follow me on

bloglovin




